cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
VinayQA
Level 2

Installation suite for multiple exe sequence installation suite

Hi,

I am new to InstallShield (have IS 2012 Premier). I have 3 exe standalone installers using Installshield 2011. Using Suite installation i want to make all these into a single package. When i add in the packages i didnt add any conditions as these exe are self sufficient they detect their presence and do all necessary actions by a UI driven. But where i am stuck is when installed 2 exe installer which is a winzip self extractor it pops up a message saying "Installation appears to be failed would you like to continue?" message though it installed properly. Can anyone advice how to get rid of this and any other suggestion.

thanks for your time.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(5) Replies
DebbieL
Level 17

Creating conditions for the .exe packages in your Suite project is a requirement. It's the only way that the Suite engine knows whether the package was successful. To help you get started, the following blog article has some tips on configuring conditions in InstallShield 2012. It also contains some links to more information.
6 Best Practice Tips for Defining Conditions in a Suite Project
0 Kudos
VinayQA
Level 2

Hi DebbieL,

Information you shared is very useful. I have couple of question here
1) The exe i am using is not my own how do i know wat it will detect for? Is there a way i can figure out the detection conditions for the same when i have a exe from third party?
2) I will launch the exe that is fine but incase if someone manually uninstall one of the exe in suite (having 3 exes) from host PC. In uninstall of the suite installer it tries to install rather than uninstall i feel for this the detection condition is important
3) In general information view Disable change button and Disable Remove button are by default set to "YES" what are the ideal settings for this?

thanks
0 Kudos
DebbieL
Level 17