cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gcggcg
Level 4

Excluding Language Specific Components

I'm brand new to InstallShield and am having difficulty excluding a language specific component from a release. I'm using the evaluation version of IS 2012 Premier. My goal is to support several different languages and to be able to do a separate build for each language that would include language independent components plus any components marked for the chosen language. Any components targetted specifically for a different language would be excluded.

What I've done so far is select the complete set of languages that I'm targetting in General Information/ Setup Languages. Then for a language specific component I select only the target language in the Component/ Languages field. Then I created a release targetted at one of the languages and, in the Releases/ Build area I selected the target language in the Data Languages field. Then I did a build and ran the installer.

I expected that on the target machine (after running the installer) I'd only see files that were linked by language independent components or components that had the targetted langage specified. Instead, I'm seeing files from all languages getting installed.

Am I misunderstanding how things work and could someone help with a few tips on how to accomplish the goal.

Thanks!
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(1) Reply
gcggcg
Level 4

I found the issue today and thought I'd share it with others. The problem appears to be that I did not use the Release Wizard when I was specifying the languages that I wanted to filter by in a release. Instead I used the Releases view and entered the language(s) that I wanted to include in a release in the Data Languages field of the property sheet. To me, this seems to be an appropriate way to specify the language(s). However, it does not work. If you check the SupportedLanguagesData field in the ISRelease table you'll see that no value is entered.