cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
nlindahl
Level 3

Error with IISRT: -1214

I'm getting the error in the title when installing. I've read this KB entry, but I still don't understand how to fix the error.

My project is using a property to set the IIS web site number, and that property isn't set until a custom dialog of mine. That's what makes me think that the KB entry in question applies here.

I tried setting the property in the Property Manager to a default of 0 so it would exist before hand, but then it always uses the Default web site and doesn't create my virtual directories on the one specified by the user.

In the KB they say it happens if the property isn't set before the caExtractIISSuppFiles custom action runs, but that action isn't listed in my sequences. The log file indicates the error happening in the IISCosting custom action.

You'll have to forgive me if it is something simple. I'm pretty new to this.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(4) Replies
nlindahl
Level 3

Here's an update and some more details.

First the project details:
InstallShield 2010 Professional
InstallScript MSI project

I'm deploying 5 different ASP.Net web applications and want to be able to select which existing IIS website to install them on. I'm calling a .Net class that I wrote to pull the data I need from IIS into installscript using DotNetCoCreateObject. I then display it to the user in a custom dialog where they pick from a combo box of site names. Then I use MsiSetProperty to set the values.

That's the short version.

After re-consulting the documentation on how the installation behaves depeniding on what you put in for Port number and site number, I tried leaving the site number set to 0 and only setting the port to a property that I called [IIS_Port]. Then the errors are different, but the installation still fails. Now I get lines like this in my log: