Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sasaurab
Level 3

ERROR 2732:DIRECTORY MANAGER NOT INITIALIZED

Jump to solution

Hi,

I am new to install shield.I am using 2016 version of installshield.

While i try to downgrade my application,after the successfully throwing error.while clicking on finish wizard i am getting error 2732.Directory manager not intialized.please find the attachment of my error.

Please provide me step to step solution.I am new to this.

0 Kudos
(1) Solution

Hi sasaurab,

Just to understand you case and reproduce the above mentioned error, i did the following:

Basic MSI Project (V1.0.0.0)
 1. Added File
 2. Create Release 1

Basic MSI Project (V2.0.0.0)
 1. Change the version to 2.0.0.0 under General Information.
 2. No change in  File & Folder
 3. Added Prerequisites.
 4. Create Release 2

Install Release 2 (first) and then try to install Release 1.

You should see 2 popups :
1. "This setup will perform an upgrade of '<Product>'. Do you want to continue ?" -- (select YES)
2. "A later version of '<Product>' is already installed on this machine. This setup cannot continue." 
Are you getting this messages before you see "RROR 2732" ?

After this the setup exist gracefully, in my case.

Let me know if you are performing additional steps which I am missing.

Regards,
Utsab

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
(8) Replies
UtsabKarmakar
Level 5 Flexeran
Level 5 Flexeran

Hi,

This error message is displayed by the Microsoft Windows Installer engine.

The following are the known causes for this error:
  1. The custom action Source directory identifier is incorrect.
  2. A custom action is referring to a Directory variable before the CostFinalize action has run.

The following solutions have resolved this error in the majority of cases:
  1.  Please verify that the correct name for the MSI directory variable used to identify the Windows System directory is SystemFolder, without the space.