cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tylerman
Level 2

Custom Action from .NET

Hi Guys,

I'm new to InstallShield, but relatively experienced with .NET. I'm trying to build a custom action from a .NET DLL. Here is the code from my .NET DLL:

[FONT="Courier New"]using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.IO;
using System.Configuration.Install;
using System.ComponentModel;

namespace KnowledgePartners.Trim.Installer
{
[RunInstaller(true)]
public class Cleaner : System.Configuration.Install.Installer
{
[System.Security.Permissions.SecurityPermission(System.Security.Permissions.SecurityAction.Demand)]
public override void Install(IDictionary stateSaver)
{
try
{
base.Install(stateSaver);
StreamWriter sw = new StreamWriter("C:\\DoesMyCustomActionWork.txt");
sw.WriteLine("yes");
sw.Close();
return;

}
catch (System.Exception ex)
{
}

}

[System.Security.Permissions.SecurityPermission(System.Security.Permissions.SecurityAction.Demand)]
public override void Uninstall(IDictionary savedState)
{
try
{
base.Uninstall(savedState);
File.Delete("C:\\DoesMyCustomActionWork.txt");

}
catch (System.Exception ex)
{
}

}

public override void Commit(IDictionary savedState)
{
base.Commit(savedState);

}

public override void Rollback(IDictionary savedState)
{
base.Rollback(savedState);

}

}

}[/FONT]

As you can see its relatively straightforward. However when I add this DLL as a .NET custom action in InstallShield and Debug, I get the message:
Can not find the entry point of function 'KnowledgePartners.Trim.Installer.Cleaner.Install', make sure it is exported.

I'm not exactly sure what I've done wrong.. and I may ofcourse be completely off track. I can't seem to find anything that walks through how to do this, so if anyone knows, or has a link to an explanation it would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(3) Replies
Not applicable

Please try DotNetCoCreateObject function to load your .Net DLL.
0 Kudos
skolte
Level 7