Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DandamanAUS
Level 6

Can't download prerequisite yet I am an Administrator of the computer

Hi I hope someone can help!

Action:
Trying to download prerequisite "Microsoft SQL Server 2016 Express RTM (x64)".
Downloading 1 files.
Failed to download
C:\Program Files (x86)\InstallShield\2016\SetupPrerequisites\SQLServerExpress\2016\x64\SQLEXPR_x64_ENU.exe
Downloading Finished. 0 file(s) downloaded successfully. 1 file(s) failed to download correctly.

Error:
---------------------------
InstallShield
The download failed; make sure you are running as Administrator, and that your machine is connected to the Internet. Would you like to try again?
Yes No

Environment:
* Windows Server 2016
* User account used is a domain user with Administrator privileges to the server
* InstallShield 2016

I just downloaded "Microsoft ,.NET Framework 4.5.2. Full" without issues.... so I believe it might be related to the SQL Server 2016 prerequisites themselves.
Downloading 1 files.
Successfully downloaded
C:\Program Files (x86)\InstallShield\2016\SetupPrerequisites\Microsoft .net\4.5\Full\NDP452-KB2901907-x86-x64-AllOS-ENU.exe
Downloading Finished. 1 file(s) downloaded successfully. 0 file(s) failed to download correctly.

Please if someone could explain.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(10) Replies
DandamanAUS
Level 6

Also just logged in as the Computer\Administrator and they can't download the sql server 2016 prerequisite either... something is amiss with Install Shield.
0 Kudos
chad_petersen
Level 9

I don't work for Flexera at all, but thought I would chime in to let you know I tried the same in IS2016 (not SP1) just now and got the same exact thing.

I need to install SP1 anyway, so I'll install that and try it again. There's a chance that they might have fixed it, I suppose.

Chad
0 Kudos
chad_petersen
Level 9