cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Tallek
Level 3

CLR Version for Custom Actions

I'm new to install shield an i am encountering some trouble. I have a Basic MSI project set up and a .NET installer class set up to run my install/commit/rollback/uninstall custom actions. That part is working fine. In my install custom action, i reference the SQL Server SMO assemblies to do some database stuff. These assemblies are throwing the following exception:

Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.FailedOperationException was unhandled by user code
Message=ExecuteNonQuery failed for Database 'master'.
Source=Microsoft.SqlServer.Smo
Operation=ExecuteNonQuery
StackTrace:
at Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.Database.ExecuteNonQuery(StringCollection sqlCommands, ExecutionTypes executionType)
at Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.Database.ExecuteNonQuery(String sqlCommand, ExecutionTypes executionType)
at Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.Database.ExecuteNonQuery(String sqlCommand)
at * custom code removed *
at System.Configuration.Install.Installer.Install(IDictionary stateSaver)
at System.Configuration.Install.AssemblyInstaller.Install(IDictionary savedState)
at System.Configuration.Install.ManagedInstallerClass.InstallHelper(String[] args)
InnerException: System.IO.FileLoadException
Message=Mixed mode assembly is built against version 'v2.0.50727' of the runtime and cannot be loaded in the 4.0 runtime without additional configuration information.
Source=mscorlib
StackTrace:
at System.Reflection.RuntimeAssembly.GetType(RuntimeAssembly assembly, String name, Boolean throwOnError, Boolean ignoreCase, ObjectHandleOnStack type)
at System.Reflection.RuntimeAssembly.GetType(String name, Boolean throwOnError, Boolean ignoreCase)
at System.Reflection.Assembly.GetType(String name, Boolean throwOnError)
at Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Common.ServerConnection.GetStatements(String query, ExecutionTypes executionType, Int32& statementsToReverse)