cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mark_123
Level 2

Basic MSI project - custom action - execute from path - does this work ?

Hi,

I am new to InstallShield and am struggling massively with the quality of documentation, so am hoping that I can find help within this forum.

I have created a Basic MSI project.
I can happily manage to get applications installed, along with .Net as a prerequisite.

I have tried to call an external executable using a custom action that is triggered after "InstallFinalize", however, no matter what I try, it fails with error 1721.
I have now tried to simply run the "dir" command and redirect to a file... this gives the same error.
Could somebody please tell me if I am misunderstanding what this custom action is able / supposed to do and whether I am doing something stupid, and if so, what I should actually do to achieve this.

Snippet from Log output.....

Action ended 14:22:50: InstallFinalize. Return value 1.
MSI (s) (48:F0) [14:22:50:705]: Doing action: MY_executeFromPath
Action 14:22:50: MY_executeFromPath.
Action start 14:22:50: MY_executeFromPath.
MSI (s) (48:F0) [14:22:50:709]: Note: 1: 1721 2: MY_executeFromPath 3: C:\Users\Public\AppData\Local\Temp\ 4: "dir > 123.txt"
Error 1721. There is a problem with this Windows Installer package. A program required for this install to complete could not be run. Contact your support personnel or package vendor. Action: MY_executeFromPath, location: C:\Users\Public\AppData\Local\Temp\, command: "dir > 123.txt"
MSI (s) (48:F0) [14:22:56:691]: Product: IRIS 2015 -- Error 1721. There is a problem with this Windows Installer package. A program required for this install to complete could not be run. Contact your support personnel or package vendor. Action: MY_executeFromPath, location: C:\Users\Public\AppData\Local\Temp\, command: "dir > 123.txt"

Action ended 14:22:56: MY_executeFromPath. Return value 3.
Action ended 14:22:56: INSTALL. Return value 3.