cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
swrightjet
Level 3

Allow upgrades and downgrades at will

I need to have my installer automatically replace (not side-by-side) WHATEVER version of my application is already on the system.  It could be an upgrade, a downgrade or a re-install.  I have tried several things to make this happen. 

• I turned off the ISPREVENTDOWNGRADE logic, but that allows a side-by-side installation.
  • I tried creating a PowerShell script to uninstall my application at the beginning of the install.  The install locks up.

I am always doing a "major" upgrade and that works fine, but I can't seem to get the downgrade to work.

I realize that the easiest thing to do is just uninstall the application before installing the older one, but that is unacceptable to my users.

I am fairly new to InstallShield so please help!  BTW, I am on InstallShield 2021.

Labels (1)
(10) Replies
Revenera_Ian
Revenera Moderator Revenera Moderator
Revenera Moderator

Hi @swrightjet,

Thank you for your post.

Could you please provide a screenshot of your Help > About InstallShield screen from your copy of InstallShield that you are using to configure the affected project? This allows me to match the InstallShield service pack level and edition.

Which project type are you using? Basic MSI? InstallScript? Or InstallScript MSI? The project type should be indicated in square brackets on the InstallShield title bar when your affected project is open: [<Project Type>]

Please let us know if you have any questions or concerns. Thanks!

0 Kudos

The project type is Basic MSI.  Thank you.

0 Kudos
shunt
Revenera Moderator

The biggest hurdle in allowing a downgrade is Microsofts file versioning rules, as the Windows OS will not allow a file with a lower version to install over a file with a higher version. In addition a non versioned data\config file that is newer will not be overwritten if the modified date is newer than the install date.