cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
TheHouz
Level 5

64Bit Support

I have a 32Bit application that I have been building installs on for several years.

With Express 2009, can I build an install that will install my 32Bit application into a 32Bit operating systems with 64Bit hardware. I believe this is true.

But, with Express 2009 can I build an install that will install my 32Bit application into a 64Bit operating systems with 64Bit hardware.
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
(5) Replies
MichaelU
Level 12 Flexeran
Level 12 Flexeran

Yes, as long as you are installing as a 32-bit application, this will not be a problem. If in the future you need to install a 64-bit application in 64-bit fashion, you will need to upgrade.
0 Kudos
TheHouz
Level 5

Michael, thanks for the reply. I would like to confirm my understanding before I go purchase 64Bit infrastructure.

1. With Express 2009, I can build an install that will install my 32Bit application into a 32Bit operating system, with 64Bit hardware. Is this correct?

2. With Express 2009, I can build an install that will install my 32Bit application into a 64Bit operating system, with 64Bit hardware. Is this correct?

3. Down the road, if I have a 64Bit application, I will have to upgrade the Express version to have the ability to create an install for a 64Bit operating system. Is this correct?

Finally, do you have a link to instructions that will allow me to build an install that will install my 32Bit application into a 64Bit operating system, with 64Bit hardware.

Thanks, in advance!

MichaelU wrote:
Yes, as long as you are installing as a 32-bit application, this will not be a problem. If in the future you need to install a 64-bit application in 64-bit fashion, you will need to upgrade.
0 Kudos
MichaelU
Level 12 Flexeran
Level 12 Flexeran