cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Consumption showing admin users

Hi,

Whilst investigating a non-compliant licences I realised that the non-compliance was due to FNMS reporting support staff who had logged onto a PC as being users of the device in addition to the registered own of the device. Even though they did not start the application concerned they were reported as consuming a licence.

Also, we have two users sharing a device and they are both reported as consuming a licence even though one swears he has never started the application.

This has prompted two questions.

1. Can we legitimately disregard admin accounts when calculating consumption and, if so, can this be taken into account on the dashboard.
  2. If we use a tool such as AppLoader to restrict access to applications will FNMS reflect this in consumption reports?

I'm new to FNMS so any advice welcome.

(8) Replies

For #1, if you are following security best practice and the support people have an account for them to do email and other functions and a separate account for doing administrative work (usually a standardized method to differentiate the two) you can blacklist the Administrative accounts the same as service accounts.

For #2, there is no one answer. What does your agreement and the terms of use say for each different piece of software? Did you negotiate that into your agreement? Each vendor is different, and most vendors use multiple licensing models with different rules. They change the rules periodically. Licensing is not an exercise in how technology can help but what do you have to do to meet the rules of your contract and terms of use. 

Jeff

Thanks for your reply.