cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Leasing Functionality Clarification Needed

Hello - This is my second post on here as I am new to the Flexera/App Portal space and I have some clarification needed for a functionality on Leasing in App Portal v. 2019 R1 14.0.0.0.

We have a Leased catalog item that has the option enabled:

1. Allow user to extend lease when approval is required
  2. Allow extension only up to maximum days allowed

This catalog item does require approval for Install.

For this catalog item, an approved Install request adds user Machine to an AD group. Upon lease expiring, an Uninstall request is automatically triggered, user Machine is removed from AD group.

First Clarification: As per my understanding - let's assume a user has Request A whose lease is about to expire 20 days from today. To renew, user is currently creating an entirely new request, Request B. This request is approved today and user Machine remains in AD group. However, Request A hasn't expired yet. So once Request A DOES expire after Request B has been approved, Request A expiration/Uninstall actually removes User machine from AD group and thus, overwrites what Request B was supposed to do - maintain user in AD group.

Is this understanding correct as per what App Portal functionality does here? It seems App Portal doesn't associate the lease to the user/machine, rather associates the lease to the request itself. Hence this potential gap that can occur.

Next: need to clarify: for the options we have enabled, if a User does go into Request A and instead extends their Lease rather than create Request B, this extension step will NOT retrigger approvals to the Approval process configured. Is this correct?

Our use case is:

1. that we do not want a user extending their lease without it going through approvals first,